Welcome to the official Toyota Cheetah page

All you want to know about the team

Online Tickets

New Leadership Team Takes the Helm at Free State Rugby Union

Posted on Thursday, 23 Nov 2023

New Leadership Team Takes the Helm at Free State Rugby Union

Bloemfontein, 23 November 2023 – The Free State Rugby Union is pleased to announce the newly elected leadership team following the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday, 22 November at Toyota Stadium.

Coenraad Klopper, the former Deputy President, has been elected as the new President of the Free State Rugby Union. With a wealth of experience and a deep commitment to the sport, Klopper is poised to lead the Union to new heights. He takes over the reins from Jerry Segwaba who served two terms (2017-2023), making him the 23rd President since the establishment of the Free State Rugby Union in 1895.

Joining Klopper are two dynamic individuals elected as Deputy Presidents: Mpho Sekulisa, former chairperson of the Free State Woman’s Rugby Association, and Jan-Hendrik Cronje, former chairperson of Old Greys Rugby Club.

Mpho Sekulisa is the first female Deputy President in the history of the Free State Rugby Union. Their diverse backgrounds and passion for rugby will undoubtedly contribute to the growth and development of the Union.

The newly elected executive committee of the Free State Rugby Union Council includes:

  • Ronnie Bester (Police Rugby Club)
  • Hennie Coetzee (Coaches Association)
  • Lou Niewoudt (CUT Rugby Club)
  • Ben Crouse (Referees Association)
  • Eugene Maddocks (Collegians Rugby Club)

“We are excited to welcome our new leadership team and confident that under their guidance, the Free State Rugby Union will continue to thrive and make significant contributions to the growth of rugby in the region,” said Selvyn Colby, GM Free State Rugby Union.

The Free State Rugby extends its gratitude to all attendees of the Annual General Meeting and look forward to a successful and collaborative tenure under the leadership of President Coenraad Klopper and Deputy Presidents Mpho Sekulisa and Jan-Hendrik Cronje.


Share this article: